Skip to main content

What is it?

The Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a popular international qualification for students aged 14-16. The IGCSE is designed to be taught as a two-year program. Each subject is certificated separately. Cambridge IGCSE is comparable to the Singapore-Cambridge GCE O-Level system and the United Kingdom’s General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE).

1. The Curriculum

The IGCSE offers over 70 subjects, and the syllabus has both international and local elements. There are so many interesting subjects, such as Food and Nutrition, Travel and Tourism, and Design and Technology, to name a few. There are five subject groups:

1Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc)
2Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, etc)
3Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc)
4Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, etc)
5Creative, Technical & Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, etc)

2. Certification

IGCSE qualifications are recognised globally. A student is awarded one IGCSE certificate for each subject. In other words, if a student takes 5 IGCSE subjects, he or she will receive 5 IGCSE certificates.

3. Assessments

The IGCSE assessment is conducted at the end of the course. Assessments include written, oral, coursework, and practical assessment. This way, students are given the chance to exhibit their learning abilities. In many subjects, there is a choice between core and extended curricula. To prepare for these assessments, students can access the past papers that are available online.

4. Grading

Cambridge IGCSEs are graded A*-G around the world. The A*-G grading is used by more than 6,000 schools in over 145 countries. However, some schools in select regions use 9-1 grading. Under the 9-1 grading scheme, 9 is the top grade (equivalent to an A* in the A*-G grading scale). How do A*-G grades compare to 9-1 grades?


5. IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended

A teacher, taking into consideration the different abilities of her student, decides the most appropriate levels of her students. Thus, for some subjects, there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum papers. In general, the Core curriculum is deemed easier than that of the Extended. The grades range from C-G. The Extended curriculum, made up of the Core curriculum and the Supplement (the extra topics or depth which must be added to the Core curriculum to produce the Extended curriculum), is aimed at the more academically able and leads naturally into higher education or professional training. The grades range from A* to E. The overlap of grades C, D, and E is designed to accommodate students who perform either better or worse than what their teachers expect.

Trial Class Registration

Need help with your IGCSE preparation? Prep Zone’s team of veteran trainers can definitely help! We offer 1-to-1 IGCSE tuition for all the following subjects:

  • English Language / English as a Second Language (ESL)
  • Mathematics / Cambridge International Mathematics
  • English Literature
  • Additional Mathematics
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Economics
  • Computer Science

Sign-up for a trial lesson with us today and experience the Prep Zone difference!

Please note that all trial class slots are subjected to availability. Our friendly staff will get in touch with you to finalise the trial slot within the next 24 hours.

For any additional inquiries regarding our trial class, call us at +65 6812 9999 or email us at


By submitting this form, I agree to Prep Zone Academy’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.


Author michelle_s

More posts by michelle_s